NOOB here - How do i get up to speed?

Hi,

I’m an amateur learning this technology and would like to see a category for new users. the “Heltec Products Selector” is nice, but overwhelming for someone new.

Barry

What are you looking to do, have you selected a board?

thats the problem, I want to experiment and have no idea what to purchase

Well, if you feel like spending a little extra, get two pieces of the Heltec LoRa 32 v3, there you can play with Wifi, Bluetooth (BLE), & RF (LoRa)…Use the Arduino IDE, it’s friendlier for the beginner and YouTube is your friend. See the links below:

1. LoRa board
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076KJZ5QM?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

2. Prototype board
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07LFD4LT6?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

3. Good series to start.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AlATlN95Y0

Good Luck,
Frank

Barry,

Hey, I’m also a noob. I’ve been playing with a CubeCell HTCC-AB02A for about a week - although today I’m buying a HTCC-AB02S which has GPS built on board.

I have to say that I’ve not been that thrilled with the documentation, however by piecing together docs and information from forums I’ve been able to get things working at least :slight_smile:

I guess one of the first things to figure out is what would you like to learn about? Are you interested in measuring things, activating things, tracking things? Because that will partially determine what board you should look at getting.

Depending on which country you’re in will make a difference if you’re interested in GPS as there are different antennas for countries / regions.

Also, how familiar are you with electronics, writing code and do you like to just figure things out?

James

Hi James,

thank you for your reply.

I’m ready to order the LoRA 32 version 3. I am in learning mode, a way of life for me. I do know electronics, Amateur Radio (K0BVT), and a communications person by trade.