Need help with setting up LoRa on ESP32 V3 LoRa Dev Board

Hi,

I am new to this and would like to get some hints how to set up the LoRa transceiver for the Wifi LoRa 32 V3 development board.

I am using Arduino as the development platform.

I have downloaded the Wifi_LoRa_32FactoryTest.ino, updated the Wifi SSID and Passwd. If the Heltec.begin option for start LoRa is ‘true’ I get an error message that ‘failed to start LoRa’. If I set it to ‘false’, I get the logo followed by success in connecting to my SSID and the Wifi scan.

I have set the LoRWAN Region to US915, the LoRaWAN DevEUI is ‘custom’ as per the default.

I have not set a chipID but have it or a licese key if it should be needed.

I need hel to set up the LoRa WAN options. Are there any detailed links? The HelTec website gives me ‘page not found’ errors.

1 Like

https://docs.heltec.org/en/node/esp32/esp32_general_docs/lorawan/index.html
This may help you

Thank you wangwuse,

it helped me to get the chipid license numbers. However, I still am at a loss which files I need to modify to insert the license and other parameters and how to get these parameters.

Further to my message: what exactly are the 4 hex numbers I get when entering my deviceID? Where do I use them and add them to my program?

Hi WolfgangDaum,
from your name one could assume you are located in Europe. Please note that in Europe sending on 915 MHz is illegal. You would have to use the 868 MHz band instead.
Regards

I am US based and would appreciate an answer to my questions

I have the same problem.

Are all these Heltec boards crap that don’t work at all?

There are 4 hex numbers starting with 0x and a ‘,’ between them. Do I just enter all 4 concatinated without the 0x?