Integrate Wireless Tracker with The Things Network

I’m using the wireless tracker for a university project:

Remote sensor data collection module that will push the collected data alongside GPS telemetry to a The Things Network Application.

I have managed to extract the license, AppEUI, AppKey, and DevEUI. I then registered the device on The Things Network console. When I use any of the LoraWAN examples, I set the channel Mask to [{0xFF00}…] since that is required for TTN here in Canada, or else it uploads on the incorrect sub-frequencies.

I was able to get activity from my node in TTN:

The problem is that my node is saying:
“join failed, join again at 30s later”
In the serial terminal, so it’s clear that the program is not recognizing the successful join. How can I resolve this issue? I’m also new to LoRa in general so some documentation on using the LoRa code would be nice.

Other question: Why is the Wireless Tracker code isolated from Heltec Dev Board Repo, and authored by just one person? I’m going to be building a moderately large program so I was hoping to build in PlatformIO, but now I’m relegated to using this library in Arduino, which is a pain for multi-file management, intellisense etc.

update: am no longer able to see my device in the ttn console

Hello it is always a bit difficult with the Heltec boards.
If you tell us which board you use exactly (with picture from Heltec) and which code (here of course only the example keys), then maybe someone can help you.

By the way, if you get an error like this on the serial port
“SHA-256 comparison failed:
12:30:22.970 -> Calculated: dcde8d8a4817d9d69a72476672…
12:30:22.970 -> Expected: fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff…”,